The duroc pig

Although Duroc is little known to consumers, meat has been widely used in Spain since the 1960s for the production of ham and sausages. It is interesting to note that this is the only breed of pig whose cross-breeding with Ibérico pigs is authorised to comply with applicable quality standards. Up to 50% blood is allowed, always via the paternal path.

The ideal crossroads

The origins of the Duroc pig are still not known. However, there are many indications that it is a mixture of the red and Iberian pig. 

The modern Duroc pig developed in the middle of the 19th century in the USA as a result of the cross between Old Duroc and Red Jersey.

The reddish animals grow fast, can weigh up to 350 to 400 kilos and are extremely resistant to pathogens, heat and cold. The resulting increased productivity is one of the reasons why the breed is used for crossing. 

More importantly, the pigs also have a greater infiltration of fat compared to the white pig. This special characteristic is reflected in both the look and taste. The meat has a fine marbling and is particularly delicate and juicy – a pure taste experience.


Contact us

Questions or suggestions? We are here for you!

Showroom

Landstraßer Hauptstr. #6, 1030 Vienna 

Reservations: 06609362437

Phone/WhatsApp

AT: +43 660 9235546 

EN: +49 152 16749741

Email

info@colonogourmet.com

Live Chat

Das duroc Schwein

Obwohl Duroc bei Verbrauchern nur wenig bekannt ist, kommt das Fleisch seit den 1960er-Jahren in Spanien häufig zum Einsatz für die Herstellung von Schinken und Wurstwaren. Interessant ist, dass dies die einzige Schweinerasse ist, deren Kreuzung mit Ibérico-Schweinen nach geltenden Qualitätsstandards zugelassen ist. Erlaubt ist bis zu 50 % Blut, immer über den väterlichen Weg.

Die ideale Kreuzung

Die Ursprünge des Duroc-Schweins sind bis heute nicht genau bekannt. Vieles deutet jedoch darauf hin, dass es eine Mischung aus dem roten und iberischen Schwein ist. 

Das moderne Duroc-Schwein hat sich jedenfalls Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in den USA als Ergebnis der Kreuzung zwischen Old Duroc und Red Jersey entwickelt.

Die rötlichen Tiere wachsen schnell, können bis zu 350 bis 400 Kilo schwer werden und sind ausgesprochen widerstandsfähig gegen Krankheitserreger, Hitze und Kälte. Die dadurch erhöhte Produktivität ist einer der Gründe, warum die Rasse für die Kreuzung verwendet wird. 

Noch wichtiger ist jedoch, dass die Schweine ebenfalls eine stärkere Infiltration von Fett gegenüber dem weißen Schwein aufweisen. Diese besondere Eigenschaft zeigt sich sowohl an der Optik auch als am Geschmack. Das Fleisch hat eine feine Marmorierung und ist besonders zart und saftig – ein pures Geschmackserlebnis.


Kontaktieren Sie uns

Fragen oder Anregungen? Wir sind für Sie da!

Showroom

Landstraßer Hauptstr. #6, 1030 Wien 

Reservierung: 06609362437

Telefon/WhatsApp

AT: +43 660 9235546 

DE: +49 152 16749741

Email

info@colonogourmet.com

Live-Chat